Welcome Anonymous !


 

Battletech Universe

Battletech Design Bureau

Optional Mech Design Software Links

Submit and discuss your custom designed 'Mechs, aerospace,vehicles, protos, battlearmor, weapons, etc.

Moderators: Ravion Hawk, AVA MANGO TWO

Optional Mech Design Software Links

Postby AVA MANGO TWO » Fri Feb 13, 2009 8:04 pm

For those of you who do not own a copy of Heavy Metal Pro, but would still like to use some alternative mech design software below are two links to such programs. :D happy designing zac.

#1 Drawing board: http://www.angelfire.com/scifi/weirdozo ... board.html

#2 Solaris Skunk Werks: http://www.solarisskunkwerks.com/
Image
Image
AVA MANGO TWO
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Redstar Renegades
Redstar Renegades
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 7913
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 5:04 pm
Location: London, England

Postby thatjimboguy » Fri Feb 13, 2009 10:35 pm

Is it possible to post a 'Mech made with The Drawing Board here in the nice fancy style all of you HMPro users do? Just wondering because that's what I use.
"Win if you can. Lose if you must, but always cheat" - Jesse "The Body" Ventura
thatjimboguy
Clan Wolf
Clan Wolf
BTU Rank
BTU Rank
 
Posts: 2078
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:01 am
Location: Detroit, MI

Postby AVA MANGO TWO » Sat Feb 14, 2009 4:03 am

Yes you may post a blank readout sheet up as an example of what a Drawing board software print out page look's like with pleasure. Simply put EXAMPLE for the mech's name, and dont forget to use the code keys to get the readout sheet highlighted. :) zac
Image
Image
AVA MANGO TWO
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Redstar Renegades
Redstar Renegades
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 7913
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 5:04 pm
Location: London, England

Postby thatjimboguy » Tue Feb 17, 2009 2:04 am

Thanks. But I was hoping that someone would tell me how to make it look cute...using the code button and pasting in the XML text doesn't seem to help much
I should just buy HMPro I guess...
"Win if you can. Lose if you must, but always cheat" - Jesse "The Body" Ventura
thatjimboguy
Clan Wolf
Clan Wolf
BTU Rank
BTU Rank
 
Posts: 2078
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:01 am
Location: Detroit, MI

Postby AVA MANGO TWO » Tue Feb 17, 2009 2:13 am

thats all i use to highlight the background and text, before you post up your design click on the 'Code' tab then post your design up and finally reclick the 'Code' tab again. If you have clicked on the tab before and after you submit you post it should highlight the text for you. :) zac
Code: Select all
 just like the example here...

But if you mean the page layout and the way it differs from HMP well thats because your useing different sortware, if you want it to look like the layout HMP uses you will have to edit the original layout every time you post up a design in the forum
I saw a example of Solaris Skunk Werks software and i thought it was pretty well laid out and easy to understand to be honest, more than what can be said about Drawing board. :wink:
Image
Image
AVA MANGO TWO
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Redstar Renegades
Redstar Renegades
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 7913
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 5:04 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Teppudama » Mon Nov 21, 2011 3:25 am

Dumb question, but what of these programs does vehicles as well?
Crimson Ace Dragoons
Mercenaries for Hire
Pantheon Arms
Arms and Munitions Manufacture
Teppudama
BTU Rank
BTU Rank
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 10:55 pm
Location: Washington

Postby AVA MANGO TWO » Mon Nov 21, 2011 6:39 am

I dont personally use either of these programes, but i think you are able to design vehicles with them as well as mechs.
Image
Image
AVA MANGO TWO
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Redstar Renegades
Redstar Renegades
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 7913
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 5:04 pm
Location: London, England

Postby Teppudama » Sat Nov 26, 2011 9:31 pm

I just started using The Drawing Board, and I have not seen anything in the version I have to allow the building of anything outside of the Mech world. I have literally made 10 designs on it in the last week, so I have been over it pretty well, but I am also renowned for missing the obvious at times when it comes to technology, so I might have missed something. If someone knows TDB better then I do, please put in your $.02, as I would like to make some Vees as well.
Crimson Ace Dragoons
Mercenaries for Hire
Pantheon Arms
Arms and Munitions Manufacture
Teppudama
BTU Rank
BTU Rank
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 10:55 pm
Location: Washington

Postby Dart Omega » Sat Nov 26, 2011 9:36 pm

as an old TDB user, I can assure you none of the drawing board programs make vehicles as you will need a different program for that.

I use to use either Vehicle Construction Forge or Vehicle Factory(latest version) back before I got my heavy metal program.
Image
Dart Omega
Blue Sword
Blue Sword
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 2693
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 7:02 pm

Postby thecircus » Sat Nov 26, 2011 9:44 pm

You will have to get Heavy Metal Vee to do vehicles, and add the new weapons as custom ones.


Jeff
"This is Liberty Hall, You can spit on the mat and call the cat a bastard!"

3303
Image
3543
thecircus
Forum Administrator
Forum Administrator
7th Crucis Lancers
7th Crucis Lancers
BTU Rank
BTU Rank




 
Posts: 6117
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 7:05 pm
Location: Steubenville, OH

Postby Teppudama » Sat Nov 26, 2011 10:30 pm

I am waiting until I sell a couple of my custom guns before I buy that program, spending my "play money" right now on rebuilding my figure collection and trying to find the things I used to use way back in the day, LOL!
Thanks, I just DLed VCF and will give it a try!
Crimson Ace Dragoons
Mercenaries for Hire
Pantheon Arms
Arms and Munitions Manufacture
Teppudama
BTU Rank
BTU Rank
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 10:55 pm
Location: Washington

Postby Mekslayer » Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:37 pm

Heavy Metal Vee only does usable Level 1 3025 Vehicle designs, as it has not been updated.
Mekslayer
BTU Rank
BTU Rank
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 7:23 am
Location: West Coast

Postby Dart Omega » Mon Dec 05, 2011 9:33 pm

HMV does in fact do level 2 designs as seen here http://www.battletechuniverse.org/hpguplink/viewtopic.php?p=170468#170468
Image
Dart Omega
Blue Sword
Blue Sword
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 2693
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 7:02 pm

Postby Teppudama » Wed Dec 21, 2011 6:25 am

OK, for my next dumb question; how do I post a design I have done with TDB? I don't mean putting it into the post (pretty similar to posting an image), but I mean actually getting the page layout so that it isn't just a mech schematic. If that is the only option, then how do I get the mech schematic? Is this a game of copy and paste and I just don't know how to open it?
Crimson Ace Dragoons
Mercenaries for Hire
Pantheon Arms
Arms and Munitions Manufacture
Teppudama
BTU Rank
BTU Rank
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 10:55 pm
Location: Washington

Postby Mekslayer » Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:12 pm

Dart Omega wrote:HMV does in fact do level 2 designs as seen here http://www.battletechuniverse.org/hpguplink/viewtopic.php?p=170468#170468


Ahh sorry, I miss spoke, HMV does make Level 2 vehicles, they are just not canon legal Level 2 vehicles according to the new rules.
My gauge is that they do not make acceptable mtf or blk files that are usable by Megamek, which examines units for rule conformity before accepting it into the game.

-Mek
Mekslayer
BTU Rank
BTU Rank
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 7:23 am
Location: West Coast

Postby Mekslayer » Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:16 pm

Teppudama wrote:OK, for my next dumb question; how do I post a design I have done with TDB? I don't mean putting it into the post (pretty similar to posting an image), but I mean actually getting the page layout so that it isn't just a mech schematic. If that is the only option, then how do I get the mech schematic? Is this a game of copy and paste and I just don't know how to open it?


As a former tdb user, I would strongly suggest going away from tdb and using ssw, as tdb is now 2-3 years out of date and no longer makes legal mechs according to the new rules.
...and ssw outputs files in html format which you can add to your posts here.

-Mek
Mekslayer
BTU Rank
BTU Rank
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 7:23 am
Location: West Coast

Postby Dart Omega » Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:55 pm

technically wouldn't that also apply to the old HM software?
Image
Dart Omega
Blue Sword
Blue Sword
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 2693
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 7:02 pm

Postby shalom itay » Thu Jan 26, 2012 2:08 pm

Dart Omega wrote:technically wouldn't that also apply to the old HM software?


Maybe, but you can get now a new HMP, TW style: http://www.heavymetalpro.com/totalwar_q_a.htm
shalom itay
BTU Rank
BTU Rank
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2003 4:23 am
Location: Israel

Postby Dart Omega » Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:53 pm

oh just wondering.. I don't need it since I am staying away from tw like a plague but good to know for those who want it.
Image
Dart Omega
Blue Sword
Blue Sword
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 2693
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 7:02 pm

Re: Optional Mech Design Software Links

Postby Ravion Hawk » Thu Oct 01, 2015 9:38 pm

MegaMekLab

Fully up to date.
Makes:
'Mechs
Vees
Aero
Superheavy 'Mechs (bipeds, tripods, quads)


https://sourceforge.net/projects/megameklab/files/
"I'm the Colonel of the Iron Ravens; when I end up behind the eight-ball I blast the thing with a Gauss rifle and move on."
Ravion Hawk
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Iron Raven Mercenaries
Iron Raven Mercenaries
Major
Major


 
Posts: 1293
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 9:35 pm
Location: Somewhere in time and space


Return to Battletech Design Bureau

cron

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login